I’ve been having major problems with my Lenovo laptop running Windows Vista. Every once in a few days, I get display freezes with “Display driver has stopped working” type of messages and the occasional BSOD (Blue screen of Death). I would get a message stating that the display driver (amdkmdap.dll) had stopped working.

The problem is a known Lenovo issue and is discussed here: http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T400-T500-and-newer-T-series/R400-T400-T500-W500-display-driver-quot-amdkmdap-quot-crashes/m-p/103845

This, apparently, is a problem with the ATI graphics card drivers when they render Vista Aero, and can be fixed by going to the Lenovo support website and downloading the fixed drivers:
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-71851

(If you’re worried about installing this stuff, try turning off Aero from the Display Settings and see if that works.)

This will install drivers for the ATI Catalyst suite.
I got errors when I ran the installer, and these were due to mismatched MFC dlls in the installer package and my computer.

After searching around, someone recommended to install the updated dlls from the Adobe website: http://www.adobe.com/support/products/enterprise/support_knowledge_center_livecycle_ES_server.html

I know it sounds weird, but it works. Adobe installers  had similar problem, and so released the fixes. Now, you should be able to run the ATI installer, which has pretty cool graphics in there.

Anyway, hopefully this fixes the display problems I’ve been having…

